146th Kentucky Derby Betting Odds

Home > Horse Racing Betting > Horse Racing News > 146th Kentucky Derby

146th Kentucky Derby Betting Odds

Kentucky Derby Horse Racing Betting

While you can bet on horse racing year-round, the sport really comes alive during the race for the Triple Crown. In a typical year that would start on the first Saturday in May from Churchill Downs with the running of the Kentucky Derby. A lot has changed due to the global pandemic with sporting events and league’s delayed, postponed and canceled. We will have the 146th running of the Kentucky Derby this year only it will be on the first Saturday of September and be the second leg. Just how big is the Derby? Both Kentucky and Louisville rescheduled their college football games to avoid any conflict with the horse race.

The 2020 Kentucky Derby is scheduled for Saturday, September 5. As is the case every year, the action at Churchill Downs can be seen live on NBC.

2020 Kentucky Derby at a Glance

Date and Time: Saturday, September 5, 2020, 2:30 p.m. ET

Location: Churchill Downs, Louisville, KY

Length: 1 1/4 miles ( 10 furlongs ), dirt track

Purse: Approximately $3 million

Kentucky Derby TV Coverage: NBC

Kentucky Derby Format

Typically we see 20 horses qualify for the Derby with up to four standbys in case something happens. The qualification process is extensive with horses accumulating points over the course of their two- and three-year-old seasons. The horses with the most points earn a spot in the Kentucky Derby field as long as their connections choose to race them.

With 2020 being an unusual year for horse racing and sports in general, the process was altered a bit. With the Derby postponed until September, several qualifying races were added to the schedule in advance of the 146th running. The Santa Anita Derby, Blue Grass Stakes, Arkansas Derby, Wood Memorial, Louisiana Derby, UAE Derby, and Florida Derby are the biggest races with the most derby points awarded to the top four finishers. Colts that finish first or second in any of these races are essentially granted automatic entry into the Run for the Roses.

A maximum of 20 horses run in the Kentucky Derby each year, and for the most part, the slots are always filled. The horses that end up as the favorites to win the Kentucky Derby are the ones which win major Grade 1 races held in March and April. The only exception is the UAE Derby winner who almost always ends up being one of the longer shots on the board. To this day, no horse which won the UAE Derby has come anywhere near winning the Kentucky Derby.

Kentucky Derby Winners (Since 2000)

2019 Country House 30.00 Flavien Prat Bill Mott 2:03.93
2018 Justify 2.90 Mike Smith Bob Baffert 2:04.20
2017 Always Dreaming 4.70 John Velazquez Todd Pletcher 2:03.59
2016 Nyquist 2.00 Mario Gutierrez Doug O'Neill 2:01.31
2015 American Pharoah 2.50 Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert 2:03.02
2014 California Chrome 2.50 Victor Espinoza Art Sherman 2:03.66
2013 Orb 5.00 Joel Rosario Shug McGaughey 2:02.89
2012 I'll Have Another 15.00 Mario Gutierrez Doug O'Neill 2:01.83
2011 Animal Kingdom 20.00 John Velazquez Graham Motion 2:02.04
2010 Super Saver 50.00 Calvin Borel Todd Pletcher 2:04.45
2009 Mine That Bird 8.00 Calvin Borel Bennie Woolley Jr. 2:02.66
2008 Big Brown 3.50 Kent Desormeaux Richard Dutrow 2:01.82
2007 Street Sense 4.50 Calvin Borel Carl Nafzger 2:02.17
2006 Barbaro 6.00 Edgar Prado Michael Matz 2:01.36
2005 Giacomo 50.30 Mike Smith John Shirreffs 2:02.75
2004 Smarty Jones 4.10 Stewart Elliott John Servis 2:04.06
2003 Funny Cide 12.80 Jose Santos Barclay Tagg 2:01.19
2002 War Emblem 20.50 Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert 2:01.13
2001 Monarchos 10.50 Jorge Chavez John Ward Jr. 1:59.97
2000 Fusaichi Pegasus 2.30 Kent Desormeaux Neil Drysdale 2:01.00

We witnessed a first at the Kentucky Derby in 2019 when the horse that crossed the finish line ahead of the pack was not the winner. With closing odds of 65/1, Country House became the second biggest upset winner being awarded the blanket of roses after it was determined Maximum Security obstructed the path of a few runners. Jockey Flavien Prat and trainer Bill Mott reached the winner’s circle for the first time.

Fastest Times in Kentucky Derby History

1973 Secretariat 1:59.40
2001 Monarchos 1:59.97
1964 Northern Dancer 2:00.00
1985 Spend A Buck 2:00.20
1962 Decidedly 2:00.40

Running the Kentucky Derby in anything less than 2:01 or so is considered blazing fast. Secretariat has held the track record for nearly 50 years, running the 1973 Kentucky Debry in 1:59.40, and he is one of two horses to finish the race in under two minutes. The last three winners couldn’t even crack 2:03.50, but the track was not optimal for each of those three races.

Longest Odds To Win the Kentucky Derby

1913 Donerail 91.45
2005 Giacomo 50.30
2010 Super Saver 50
1940 Gallahadion 35.20
1999 Charismatic 31.30

The odds of a horse like Donerail winning the Kentucky Derby again are slim and none, but with the way these prices play themselves out, you never know. No one gave Country House much of a chance after favorites dominated the Kentucky Derby for the last five years, but he pulled off the second-biggest upset in Derby history.

Most Jockey Wins in Kentucky Derby History

Eddie Arcaro 5 1938, 1941, 1945, 1948, 1952
Bill Hartack 5 1957, 1960, 1962, 1964, 1969
Bill Shoemaker 4 1955, 1959, 1965, 1986
Angel Cordero Jr. 3 1974, 1976, 1985
Calvin Borel 3 2007, 2009, 2010
Earl Sande 3 1923, 1925, 1930
Gary Stevens 3 1988, 1995, 1997
Isaac Murphy 3 1894, 1890, 1891
Kent Desormeaux 3 1998, 2000, 2008
Victor Espinoza 3 2002, 2014, 2015

It's becoming tougher and tougher for modern jockeys to have success in a race like this one, but there are a few who really stand out. Calvin Borel has made a living out of winning the Kentucky Derby with late-charging horses who love running on the rail. However, it's Victor Espinoza who is getting the most run now after winning with California Chrome in 2014 and American Pharoah in 2015.

Most Trainer Wins in Kentucky Derby History

Ben Jones 6 1938, 1941, 1944, 1948, 1949, 1952
Bob Baffert 5 1997, 1998, 2002, 2015, 2018
D. Wayne Lukas 4 1988, 1995, 1996, 1999
Herbert Thompson 4 1921, 1926, 1932, 1933

If you thought it was tough to try to figure out which jockey was going to win the Kentucky Derby year in and year out, trying to pick the trainer is even harder. Of this list of four men who have won the Run for the Roses at least four times, only one is relatively modern in Bob Baffert. He has trained two winners recently, American Pharoah in 2015 and Justify in 2018.

When Doug O'Neill won the race with Nyquist in 2016 that ended a stretch of 13 consecutive years in which a different trainer won the Kentucky Derby. O'Neill also trained I'll Have Another in 2012.

Horse Racing Betting Bonus

Load your betting bankroll from your smartphone with BookMaker’s new cashier feature! Depositing and withdrawing funds from your account has never been easier for the Kentucky Derby, which will be held Saturday, September 5, 2020, at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. BookMaker's live betting platform means you always have access to odds, Articles and lines to every sporting event. Click here and start wagering today!

Join Now!
Back to Top