144th Preakness Stakes Betting - Horse Racing Odds

Home > Horse Racing Betting > Horse Racing News > 144th Preakness Stakes

144th Preakness Stakes Betting

Preakness Stakes Betting

The beauty of the Preakness Stakes is that one horse heads there every single year knowing that two more wins in a row will give him the Triple Crown. Rare is the race in which the Kentucky Derby winner doesn't run in the second leg of the Triple Crown even though these thoroughbreds really aren't trained to run twice in a matter of just 14 days at two different tracks.

The 2019 Preakness Stakes is scheduled for Saturday, May 18 at 6:45 p.m. ET. As is the case every year, the action at Pimlico Race Course can be seen live on NBC.

2019 Preakness Stakes At a Glance

Race Distance: 1 3/16 Miles

Record: 1:53 (Secretariat, 1973)

Purse: Approximately $1.5 million

Qualification: 3-year olds (colts and fillies)

Qualifying for the Preakness Stakes isn't nearly as rigorous as it is for the Kentucky Derby. There are a total of 14 slots available for three-year old fillies and colts in the Preakness Stakes, but the field is rarely actually filled up.

The first way to qualify for the Preakness Stakes is to finish in the top 5 at the Kentucky Derby. Career earnings and earnings in non-restricted stakes races are used to fill up the field. For the latter reason, pretty much any horse that runs in the Kentucky Derby who wants to come back two weeks later at Pimlico is qualified to do so. Every year, at least three or four who ran in the Derby turn around and run in the Preakness, and often times, we see most of the field in the second leg of the Triple Crown comprised of the horses that ran in the first leg.

A special slot is also reserved for the winner of Pimlico's special prep race for the Preakness Stakes, the Federico Tesio Stakes. Often times, winners of late prep races for the Kentucky Derby, including the Illinois Derby and the Lexington Stakes come to Pimlico for the second leg of the Triple Crown. We also occasionally see trainers and owners have the gumption to run horses who only have maiden wins under their belt against the big boys simply due to the fact that there are so many who are more qualified who simply choose to not run.

List of Preakness Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2018 Justify 0.40 Mike Smith Bob Baffert 1:55.93
2017 Cloud Computing 13.40 Javier Castellano Chad Brown 1:55.98
2016 Exaggerator 3.00 Kent Desormeaux Keith Desormeaux 1:58.31
2015 American Pharoah 0.90 Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert 1:58.46
2014 California Chrome 0.60 Victor Espinoza Art Sherman 1:54.84
2013 Oxbow 15.00 Gary Stevens D. Wayne Lukas 1:57.54
2012 I'll Have Another 3.00 Mario Gutierrez Doug O'Neill 1:55.94
2011 Shackleford 12.00 Jesus Castanon Dale Romans 1:56.21
2010 Lookin At Lucky 2.40 Martin Garcia Bob Baffert 1:55.47
2009 Rachel Alexandra 1.80 Calvin Borel Steve Asmussen 1:55.05
2008 Big Brown 0.20 Kent Desormeaux Richard Dutrow 1:54.80
2007 Curlin 3.40 Robby Albarado Steve Asmussen 1:55.05
2006 Bernardini 12.90 Javier Castellano Tom Albertrani 1:54.65
2005 Afleet Alex 3.30 Jeremy Rose Timothy Ritchey 1:55.04
2004 Smarty Jones 0.70 Stewart Elliott John Servis 1:55.59
2003 Funny Cide 1.90 Jose Santos Barclay Tagg 1:55.61
2002 War Emblem 2.80 Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert 1:56.36
2001 Point Given 2.30 Gary Stevens Bob Baffert 1:55.51
2000 Red Bullet 6.20 Jerry Bailey Joe Orseno 1:56.00

Fastest Times in Preakness Stakes History

1973 Secretariat 1:53.00
1996 Louis Quatorze 1:53.40
1985 Tank's Prospect 1:53.40
2007 Curlin 1:53.46
1990 Summer Squall 1:53.60

The great Secretariat still reigns supreme as the top horse who ever raced in the Triple Crown, but there have been some times where other horses have challenged his record time of 1:53.00. The closest times came in 1985 and 1996 when Tank's Prospect and Louis Quatorze ran matching 1:53.40 times to win the Preakness Stakes.

Since 2000, the only horse to come anywhere near the record held by Secretariat was Curlin in 2007, and he ran that race in 1:53.46. Even when the great American Pharoah won the Preakness Stakes in his Triple Crown year in 2015, his time was 1:58.46, though it should be noted that the race was run in a driving rainstorm that day. Triple Crown winner Justify ran the race in 1:55.93 in 2018 and Cloud Computing won the Preakness Stakes in 1:55.98 in 2017. Those are the only horses since Lookin At Lucky in 2010 to run the Preakness in less than 1:56.

Longest Odds To Win the Preakness Stakes

1975 Master Derby 23.40
1925 Coventry 21.80
1926 Display 19.35
2013 Oxbow 15.00
1900 Hindus 15.00
1909 Effendi 15.00

It's hard to believe that there has never been a horse win the Preakness Stakes with a price of even 25 to 1 on his head. Master Derby is the longest shot to ever win the second leg of the Triple Crown at 23.40. Unlike the other legs of the Triple Crown where horses go off the board at 50 to 1 all the time and occasionally have won, the Preakness Stakes has such underdogs, yet none have ever actually hit the line first. Oxbow, who was 15 to 1 in 2013, is largely considered to have pulled off one of the biggest upsets in Preakness Stakes history. Cloud Computing represented one of the bigger upsets in recent history as well at a price of 13.40 to win the 2017 Preakness Stakes.

Most Jockey Wins in Preakness Stakes History

Eddie Arcaro 6 1941, 1948, 1950, 1951, 1955, 1957
Pat Day 5 1985, 1990, 1994, 1995, 1996
George Barbee 3 1873, 1876, 1883
Bill Hartack 3 1956, 1964, 1969
Lloyd Hughes 3 1875, 1879, 1880
Gary Stevens 3 1997, 2001, 2013
Victor Espinoza 3 2002, 2014, 2015
Kent Desormeaux 3 1998, 2002, 2016

Most of the jockeys you see on this list won the Preakness Stakes several times way back in the day. However, it isn't out of the ordinary to see a modern day jockey go on a bit of a run. The most famous run in recent times, of course, is Victor Espinoza, who won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes in consecutive years with California Chrome and American Pharoah respectively.

Kent Desormeaux won his third Preakness Stakes aboard Exaggerator in 2016, giving him a span of 18 years from his first Preakness victory until his third.

The record of six Preakness Stakes victories held by Eddie Arcaro figures to stand up for quite some time in the future though, as no active jockey has more than three career Preakness Stakes wins.

Most Trainer Wins in Preakness Stakes History

R. Wyndham Walden 7 1875, 1878, 1879, 1880, 1881, 1882, 1888
Bob Baffert 7 1997, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2010, 2015, 2018
D. Wayne Lukas 6 1980, 1985, 1994, 1995, 1999, 2013
Thomas J. Healey 5 1901, 1922, 1923, 1926, 1929
Jim Fitzsimmons 4 1930, 1935, 1955, 1957
Jimmy Jones 4 1947, 1948, 1956, 1958

R. Wyndham Walden and Bob Baffert hold the record for Preakness Stakes victories with seven. The record of seven by Walden stood for 120 years, but Baffert tied the record in 2018 with Justify’s win.  D. Wayne Lukas has six Preakness Stakes wins. It's plausible for him to get his seventh as well, though it's been a while since he's trained a champion three-year old pony, and his options are incredibly limited at the end of his career.

Horse Racing Betting Bonus

Load your betting bankroll from your smartphone with BookMaker’s new cashier feature! Depositing and withdrawing funds from your account has never been easier for the Preakness Stakes on May 18th, 2019 at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland .BookMaker's live betting platform means you always have access to odds, Articles and lines to every sporting event. Click here and start wagering today!

Join Now!
Back to Top